## Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20510

May 23, 2025

The Honorable Tom Cole Chairman House Committee on Appropriations H-307 The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Steve Womack Chair House Committee on Appropriations Subcommittee on Transportation, Housing, and Urban Development 2358-A Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Rosa DeLauro Ranking Member House Committee on Appropriations 1016 Longworth Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable James Clyburn
Ranking Member
House Committee on Appropriations
Subcommittee on Transportation, Housing,
and Urban Development
1036 Longworth House Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chairman Cole, Ranking Member DeLauro, Chair Womack, and Ranking Member Clyburn,

As you develop the Fiscal Year 2026 Transportation, Housing, and Urban Development Appropriations bill, we respectfully request that you appropriate at least \$45 million for the Department of Housing and Urban Development's (HUD) Community Development Block Grants-Disaster Recovery (CDBG-DR) program for victims of Hurricane Harvey that were previously and inappropriately barred from receiving these funds.

Almost eight years ago, Hurricane Harvey devastated the Gulf Coast region, its nearly 60 inches of rain and related flooding claiming 68 lives and causing an estimated \$125 billion in damage. For Houston and Harris County, this destructive storm was the third 500-year flood event in three years, following significant rain events in 2015 and 2016. And across the region, more than 300,000 homes and businesses flooded and 40,000 people evacuated or were forced to take refuge in shelters.

After the Disaster Declaration for Hurricane Harvey, the federal government offered muchneeded disaster aid. While several Texans qualified for FEMA assistance, those who were
denied FEMA relief were offered a low-interest, direct loan through the Small Business
Administration (SBA) to jump-start disaster recovery. Businesses, nonprofits, homeowners, and
renters used these loans to repair or replace property damaged in this devastating storm, allowing
them to begin the recovery process and return to their homes and work as quickly as possible.
Loan applicants received these funds with the understanding and assurance from SBA that the
loans would not disqualify them from CDBG-DR grants from HUD. They later learned,
however, that a duplication of benefits rule disqualified their grant applications.

Paradoxically, if these loan applicants had taken private loans, likely at higher interest rates, instead of low-interest government loans, duplication of benefits would not have been an issue. Members of our community were, in effect, punished for using much-needed government resources in a time of crisis.

In June 2019, HUD amended this duplication of benefits rule to ensure that Texans who received an SBA loan after Harvey would be eligible for CDBG-DR funding. Although this rule changed, no additional funding was appropriated. In 2020, the House passed an amendment to H.R. 5687, the *Emergency Supplemental Appropriations for Disaster Relief and Puerto Rico Disaster Tax Relief Act*, that provided \$45 million for CDBG-DR grants for these eligible Texans. Because the Senate did not vote on this legislation, these Texans still have not been able to receive this critical funding.

We ask that the Appropriations Committee and Transportation, Housing, and Urban Development Subcommittee provide at least \$45 million to make this right for our constituents, many of whom are still recovering from the effects of Hurricane Harvey after nearly eight years. They put their trust in our federal agencies to help them recover from this historic storm and have been delayed through no fault of their own.

Thank you for your attention to this request. We look forward to working with you to ensure Texans receive the resources they deserve and have been waiting for since August 2017. Should you have any questions or require further information, we would be glad to assist in this effort.

Sincerely,

Lizzie Fletcher

Member of Congress

Sylvia R. Garcia

Member of Congress

Al Green

Member of Congress

Dan Crenshaw

Member of Congress