Washington, D.C. 20515

December 7, 2020

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House United States House of Representatives H-232, U.S. Capitol Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Minority Leader United States House of Representatives H-204, U.S. Capitol Washington, DC 20515

Dear Speaker Pelosi and Leader McCarthy:

We write today to share our support for restoring the deductibility of forgiven Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) expenses.

As we have heard from our constituents, the PPP has served as a lifeline for small businesses in our communities. However, the success of this program is negatively impacted because of IRS Notice 2020-32. On April 30, the IRS issued Notice 2020-32 which disallowed the deductibility of forgiven PPP expenses. This regulatory decision will effectively tax forgiven loan expenses on a gross basis after the vast majority of businesses applied for the loan and after many received funds. The IRS provided this notice weeks after the Small Business Administration (SBA) and the Department of Treasury established and opened the PPP loan portal. The SBA data indicate within the month of April alone, more than 3.8 million PPP loans were approved (74% of total PPP loans).

When we passed the *Coronavirus Aid*, *Relief*, and *Economic Security Act* in March, Congress created this program to help businesses within our districts and states survive this pandemic. By disallowing PPP loan recipients the ability to deduct forgiven PPP loan expenses, this is a surprise tax increase to businesses struggling to stay afloat. This is not what Congress intended. Further, the Joint Committee on Taxation has scored legislation that would restore deductibility as a technical fix that would not increase the deficit.

While we appreciate previous COVID-related legislation in the House of Representatives addressed this important issue, we request Congress restore deductibility before the end of the year. If this notice is not corrected, the regulatory decision will damage the lasting success of the PPP program and hinder the small business economy's recovery from this crisis.

Sincerely,

Anthony Gonzalez Member of Congress

anunja

Lizzie Fletcher Member of Congress

Washington, **D.C.** 20515

Colin Allred Kelly Armstrong
Member of Congress Member of Congress

Cindy Axne James R. Baird

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Sean Casten Ben Cline

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Angie Craig Sharice L. Davids

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Veronica Escobar Mike Garcia

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Lance Gooden Michael Guest

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Jim Hagedorn Josh Harder

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Kendra S. Horn Chris Jacobs

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Dusty Johnson John Joyce M.D.

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Fred Keller Tom Malinowski
Member of Congress Member of Congress

Lucy McBath Daniel Meuser

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Washington, D.C. 20515

Greg Murphy Chris Pappas

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Guy Reschenthaler Denver Riggleman
Member of Congress Member of Congress

Chip Roy Michael F.Q. San Nicolas

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Kim Schrier, M.D. Elissa Slotkin

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Ross Spano Greg Stanton

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Pete Stauber W. Gregory Steube

Member of Congress Member of Congress

William R. Timmons, IV David Trone

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Lauren Underwood Michael Waltz

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Jennifer Wexton Susan Wild

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Ron Wright Haley M. Stevens

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Sylvia R. Garcia Jason Crow

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Washington, **D.C.** 20515

Anthony Brindisi Max Rose

Member of Congress Member of Congress

John Rose Jahana Hayes

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Xochitl Torres Small Dan Bishop

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Russ Fulcher Van Taylor

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Jared Golden Antonio Delgado

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Elaine G. Luria

Member of Congress