## Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20510

April 30, 2024

The Honorable Tom Cole Chairman House Committee on Appropriations H-307 The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Hal Rogers Chairman House Committee on Appropriations Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, and Science H-310 The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Rosa DeLauro Ranking Member House Committee on Appropriations 1036 Longworth Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Matt Cartwright Ranking Member House Committee on Appropriations Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, and Science 1036 Longworth Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chairman Cole, Ranking Member DeLauro, Chairman Rogers, and Ranking Member Cartwright:

As you consider the Fiscal Year 2025 Commerce, Justice, Science, and Related Agencies Appropriations bill, we respectfully request that you include robust funding for the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR). It is critical that EOIR has the resources they need to ensure due process within our immigration process and secure our border.

EOIR cites the backlog of immigration cases waiting to be adjudicated as the largest single issue facing the immigration courts today. At the end of 2021, immigration courts had a 1.4 million case backlog, with the pandemic and policy changes from the previous administration exacerbating an already stressed system. And although the Biden Administration has prioritized funding EOIR over the past three years, the backlog grew to nearly 1.8 million cases pending by the end of 2022 and nearly 2.8 million cases by the start of 2024.

This growing backlog impedes the proper functioning of our immigration system, creating a significant barrier for people legally seeking asylum, migrants, pregnant women, and people with disabilities that seek to enter the United States. These complex cases can take up to seven years before receiving a hearing, leaving migrants, families, and communities in legal limbo as they wait for hearings and decisions. As we seek to address immigration and border security more broadly, funding EOIR is one important way we can help address issues in our immigration system and bolster national security today.

It is critical that EOIR has sufficient resources to ensure a well-functioning and fair system. For these reasons, we request that Congress include robust funding for EOIR to hire more judges and decrease the current backlog. We strongly urge you to provide robust funding for this program in the Fiscal Year 2025 Commerce, Justice, Science, and Related Agencies Appropriations bill.

Sincerely,

Lizzie Fletcher

Member of Congress

Dan Goldman

Member of Congress

Gregorio Kilili Camacho

Sablan

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Jahana Hayes

Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton

Member of Congress

Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress Jewnifer L. McClellan Member of Congress Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree

Chell R

Nikki Budzinski Member of Congress

Vicente Gonzalez

Member of Congress

Mike Levin Member of Congress Dina Titus Member of Congress

oaquin Castro Member of Congress

Marc A. Veasey

Member of Congress

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Winds J. Jany

Nanette Diaz Barragán
Member of Congress

Sylvia R. Garcia
Member of Congress

Marie Gluesenkamp Perez Member of Congress

Henry Cuellar Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa Member of Congress Colin Z. Allred Member of Congress

Jimmy Panetta Member of Congress

Steven Horsford Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

Mary Sattler Peltola Member of Congress

Man Sattles Peltola

Darren Soto

Member of Congress

asa Al C

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Tames A. Himes Member of Congress

Hillary 9. Scholten
Member of Congress

Veronica Escobar Member of Congress

Al Green

Member of Congress

Joe Courtney

Member of Congress

Rick Larsen

Member of Congress

lik Tanen

**#**lenn Ivey

Delia C. Ramirez

Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress

Andrea Salinas
Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Jared Moskowitz Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Dean Phillips
Member of Congress

Shri Thanedar Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Andy Kim

Danny K. Davis

Danny K. **Q**avis Member of Congress

Greg Stanton

Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

Chris Deluzio

Ison Crow

Member of Congress

Kathy E. Manning Member of Congress

Ruben Gallego

Member of Congress

Susan Wild

Member of Congress

Sean Casten

Member of Congress

Shontel M. Brown

Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García

Member of Congress

Katie Porter

Member of Congress

Melanie Stansbury

Member of Congress

Bill Foster

Member of Congress

Bill Foster

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Diana DeGette Th

Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren