Press Releases

Congresswoman Lizzie Fletcher Requests Information on President Trump’s Decision to Withdraw U.S. Troops From Syria

Houston, October 10, 2019
(Houston, TX) – Congresswoman Lizzie Fletcher (TX-07) joined Congressman Jason Crow (CO-06) and more than 50 members of Congress in a letter to President Trump asking for more information on his decision to withdraw U.S. forces from the Syrian Turkish border.

“We believe your decision to withdraw U.S. personnel from the area will have far-reaching diplomatic and national security implications: it will dramatically alter our partnership with the Syrian Democratic Forces (SDF), allow unilateral Turkish incursions into Syria, and jeopardize counter-ISIS efforts. Furthermore, it introduces uncertainty into U.S. foreign policy that will cause current and future allies to question the reliability of the U.S. as a partner,” the members wrote.

Kurdish fighters in northern Syria have been key allies in the fight against ISIS in the region. Without the presence of the U.S. army, the Kurds are vulnerable to attacks by both ISIS fighters and Turkey. On Wednesday, Turkey launched a major military operation in northern Syria, involving reported airstrikes and artillery fire.

“The President's removal of American troops from Syria leaves our Kurdish allies vulnerable and leaves the entire area unstable. The U.S. has stood and should stand behind our allies,” said Congresswoman Fletcher. “As we have seen in the last 24 hours, it has already resulted in armed conflict and lives lost. The President's decision is contrary to our values – taking lives and risking our national security.”

The letter was signed by Reps. Colin Allred (TX-32), Lisa Blunt Rochester (DE-AL), Anthony Brown (MD-04), Andre Carson (IN-07), Ed Case (HI-01), Sean Casten (IL-06), David Cicilline (RI-01), Gil Cisneros (CA-39), Emanuel Cleaver (MO-05), Jim Cooper (TN-05), Jim Costa (CA-16), Joe Courtney (CT-02), TJ Cox (CA-21), Angie Craig (MN-02), Sharice Davids (KS-03), Suzan DelBene (WA-01), Veronica Escobar (TX-16), Adriano Espaillat (NY-13), Bill Foster (IL-11), Ruben Gallego (AZ-07), Al Green (TX-09), Raul Grijalva (AZ-03), Vicente Gonzalez (TX-15), Alcee Hastings (FL-20), Katie Hill (CA-25), Jim Himes (CT-04), Kendra Horn (OK-05), Chrissy Houlahan (PA-06), Derek Kilmer (WA-06), Andy Kim (NJ-03), Jim Langevin (RI-02), Susie Lee (NV-03), Elaine Luria (VA-02), Tom Malinowski (NJ-07), Lucy McBath (GA-06), Grace Meng (NY-06), Joseph Morelle (NY-25), Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (FL-26), Joe Neguse (CO-02), Donald Norcross (NJ-01), Frank Pallone (NJ-06), Jimmy Panetta (CA-20), Chris Pappas (NH-01), Katie Porter (CA-45), Harley Rouda (CA-48), Mary Gay Scanlon (PA-05), Donna Shalala (FL-27), Mikie Sherrill (NJ-11), Albio Sires (NJ-08), Elissa Slotkin (MI-08), Xochitl Torres Small (NM-02), Abigail Spanberger (VA-07), Mike Thompson (CA-05), Laurie Trahan (MA-03), Jennifer Wexton (VA-10), and Susan Wild (PA-07).

Read the full letter here.