Press Releases

Congresswoman Lizzie Fletcher and Congressman Dan Crenshaw Lead Bipartisan Effort Advocating for Hydrogen Hub to be Established in Houston

Today, Congresswoman Lizzie Fletcher (TX-07) and Congressman Dan Crenshaw (TX-02) led ten of their colleagues in the Texas Delegation in sending a letter to U.S. Department of Energy Secretary Jennifer Granholm, making the case for the Department to select Houston as a location for a hydrogen hub under the program created in the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA), which President Biden signed into law last year.  In the IIJA, Congress  authorized the development of at least four hydrogen hubs to advance the country’s clean hydrogen sector, and the U.S. Department of Energy will select six to ten regions to establish these hydrogen hubs.  

“We write as members of the Texas delegation to express our support for hydrogen development and to highlight the Houston area as uniquely suited to advance critical technologies both in a meaningful manner and at scale,” the Members wrote.

“There is simply no better place in the United States to establish a large-scale hydrogen hub than Houston,” the Members continued.  “The energy capital of the world, Houston has a unique concentration of industries, manufacturing, and expertise that is unmatched.  Texas already produces approximately one-third of the nation’s hydrogen has provided America with energy for over a century.”

In November 2021, Congresswoman Fletcher voted for the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act and the creation of this important program.  

Congresswoman Fletcher and Congressman Crenshaw, members of the House Committee on Energy and Commerce led the letter, which the following members of Congress joined: Congressman Colin Allred, Congressman Brian Babin, Congressman Michael C. Burgess, Congressman Henry Cuellar, Congressman Vicente Gonzalez, Congressman Al Green, Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee, Congressman Troy Nehls, Congressman Marc Veasey, and Congressman Randy Weber. 

To read the full text of the letter, click here.